Is Flax Seed the Vegan Baker’s Miracle Worker?

I spent the weekend trying to find a good recipe for vegan pumpkin cookies to take to a family dinner. Unfortunately, the recipes that looked somewhat tasty had a lot of ingredients that were not very healthy – even though they were technically vegan. I finally found one that used oatmeal as the base and gave it a try. Not much success. They could be described as blobs of dough that didn’t remotely resemble anything I would normally associate with pumpkin cookies. So I went on another search to find a better recipe. What I found rocked my world!

The pumpkin cookie recipe I found called for an egg replacement for the equivalent of 2 eggs. Being a fairly novice vegan baker, I thought to myself, ‘What the heck can I use for an egg replacement that won’t have me traipsing all over creation trying to find it?’. I did a quick internet search and found what is sure to be a life changer – ground flax seed and water (can you get any more simple than that?!) is the perfect egg replacer! At first, I thought, no, this can’t be true. It seems too simple but I gave it a try. I was running out of time and needed a miracle. Flax seed delivered!

Not only did the cookies turn out really tasty, the texture of them was comparable to those Soft Batch cookies I used to inhale when I was a teenager. You remember those don’t you? The cookies that were supposed to mimic Mama’s homemade cookies right out of the oven. Heaven only knows what horrible list of ingredients were in those tasty morsels but they sure were yummy. I was so thrilled to find something that reminded me of them and were healthy!

So, here’s the scoop. If you need an egg replacer for a baking recipe in order to make it vegan all you have to do is mix 2 Tbsp of finely ground flax seed with 3 Tbsp of water for each egg you need in the recipe. Mix together and let set for a few minutes until they reach that gooey egglike texture. Then mix it with the rest of your ingredients as called for. Voila! a vegan miracle has occurred in your kitchen!

Not only are flax seeds a great egg replacer, they are great for your body! They contain Omega-3 fatty acids that help keep your heart healthy, Lignans which contain antioxidants and tons of Fiber to keep things movin’! So including them in something that people might consider an indulgence is a great way to balance the health scale a bit.

One caveat though. If you are one of those people who feels like flax seed has a strong taste you may want to add more of the spices or flavorful portions of your recipes to overcome it. My brother Justin is one of those that doesn’t really like spicy or pumpkin-y food so he really liked these cookies since the flax seed kind of overrode the cinnamon and cloves. I really like the pumpkin-y spices so I’m going to try another batch and up the cinnamon and cloves until I get the spice level I like.

In case you are curious to try it out, the recipe can be found here on Natural Papa’s Blog.

If you want to learn more about the benefits of flax seed, WebMD, Flax Seed Heath and Women’s Fitness all have great information.

Leave a Reply

