Is olive oil safe to use outside of the kitchen?

The other day my skin was desperately dry and I hadn’t made it to the store to replenish my supply of moisturizer. I knew I had to take some serious action, quickly. Otherwise, I might go completely insane from the tickling, itching and sharp pings of pain from my dehydrated skin.

So I put my thinking cap on and thought to myself, ‘Self. What do I have in the house that would be a great moisturizer?’ Being the clever cookie that I am, I immediately thought of olive oil. If olive oil is good to eat, it must be good to put on your skin. Right? Right. So I gave it a try.

I was amazed with the results. Not only did my skin stop screaming, the application of the oil was a nice reprieve from my day – almost like going to a spa. It felt so luxurious – all at the bargain basement price of ~$.10 for the amount I used. Total win-win for a frugal Francis like me.

Afterward I did a bit of digging on the internet to see if what I was doing was completely insane or ridiculously brilliant. Fortunately, my research ended on the brilliant end of the spectrum!

EVOO (as Rachael Ray would say):

  1. Contains squalene which helps to regulate sebum. Sebum forms a coating on the skin that acts as a barrier, inhibits the growth of micro-organisms and lubricates skin and hair.
  2. Is rich in antioxidants including vitamins A & E, polyphenols, phytosterols & avenasterol. They work to neutralize free radicals and repair cell membranes.
  3. Contains chlorophyll which is an anti-aging substance that promotes the healing of skin conditions and wounds.

Have you used olive oil as a moisturizer? I would love to hear your suggestions on the blog, on Facebook or on Twitter.

2 Responses to Is olive oil safe to use outside of the kitchen?

  1. Ari Moore says:

    Your idea has a historical precedent: I’ve read that the ancient Greeks used oil to “wash” with – they’d rub it all over themselves so it would absorb dirt and so on, then scrape away the excess, leaving their skin clean(ish) and moisturized.

Leave a Reply

