There’s no such thing as a stupid question?

As a wannabe vegan, I strive to be tolerant of others who may not be as aware of what it means to be vegan as I do. In fact, I do everything I can to help people become more informed – if they want to be. But sometimes the questions can be a bit ridiculous and it can be difficult to maintain a demeanor that exemplifies the compassionate, loving person I strive to be.

Of course, I am not the only one that suffers from this and I was pleasantly surprised to find the following video that addresses just such a dilemma…


Although he takes it to the extreme, sometimes it DOES feel like the endless questions and scenarios presented distract from the original topic at hand and degenerate the conversation into an endless game of “What if…?” that could eventually get pretty ugly if both sides decide to defend their opposing opinions.

So what should a wannabe vegan do when this happens? Here are three suggestions that have worked for me in the past:

  1. First, take a deep breath, stay calm and remind yourself this is a great opportunity to be a good example of a compassionate person.
  2. Acknowledge their questions and try to understand the belief behind their reaction. For example, “Wow. You seem to be really interested in veganism. Why is that?”
  3. State your intention for the conversation and divert their attention to the original topic. For example, “Nancy, I’m happy to answer your questions about being vegan anytime but I asked you to lunch today because I wanted to hear about your trip to Japan. How was it? Did you have a fabulous time?”

Have you ever encountered the ‘endless question’ scenario? How did you handle it?

Please share below. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

